Wednesday, June 26, 2024
10.1 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

On board South Wairarapa


South Wairarapa Community Boards

There was strong competition vying for a seat at Featherston’s Community Board table.

Coming out on top was well-known musician and community leader Warren Maxwell [1053 votes].

He joins fellow newcomers to the board: Annelise Schroeder, Tui Rutherford, and John Dennison.

Dennison previously told Local Democracy Reporting he would like to address the issue of affordable housing for locals “with some imaginative solutions”.

In Greytown, one vacancy still remains on the community board and will need to be filled with a by-election.

Joining the board are Louise Brown, Jo Woodcock, and Warren Woodgyer.

In previous correspondence with Local Democracy Reporting, Woodcock said she was looking forward to serving her community.

“It’s imperative that our community is well-informed and therefore empowered to participate and engage in local decisions.

“As a responsible community board member, it’s important to be accessible to those who live in our district to discuss issues of concern to them and allow me to advocate on their behalf.

“I look forward to working for the better future of our community.”

In Martinborough, all four candidates nominated for the community board have won a seat by default.

Storm Robertson, Karen Krogh, and Angela Brown will join current community board chair Mel Maynard.

Maynard is the only community board member from last triennium to be re-elected. – NZLDR

Unsuccessful candidates

Mary Byrne [576]

Jayson Tahinurua [293]

Roger Bradshaw [269]

Emily Ireland
Emily Ireland
Emily Ireland is Wairarapa’s Local Democracy Reporter, a Public Interest Journalism role funded through NZ On Air. Emily has worked at the Wairarapa Times-Age for seven years and has a keen interest in council decision-making and transparency.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
light rain
10.1 ° C
10.1 °
8.8 °
94 %
100 %
10 °
11 °
11 °
12 °
9 °