Monday, July 22, 2024
9.5 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Final results for local body elections


Final election results are in, and there are no changes to the line-ups previously reported.

In Masterton, Mayor-elect Gary Caffell attracted 5455 votes, putting him well ahead of fellow mayoral candidates Craig Bowyer [1335], Jo Hayes [930], Tina Nixon [895], William Izard [650], and Hakepa [81].

Bex Johnson remains the highest polling candidate in Masterton’s General Ward, with 5753 votes.

She will be joined by fellow ward candidates Tom Hullena [4755], Tim Nelson [4292], and Craig Bowyer [2881].

David Holmes took out the top spot in Masterton’s At Large Ward with 4810 votes.

He will be joined by Stella Lennox [4278] and Brent Goodwin [4028].

Marama Tuuta was uncontested in Masterton’s Maori Ward and is declared elected.

In Carterton, Ron Mark has secured the mayoralty with 2475 votes.

Runner-up was incumbent mayor Greg Lang [2053].

Newcomer Steve Laurence was the highest polling candidate for the council [2559], and he is joined by Dale Williams [2550], Steve Cretney [2471], Steve Gallon [2411], Lou Newman [2400], Robyn Cherry-Campbell [2148], Brian Deller [2110], and Grace Ayling [2029].

In South Wairarapa, Martin Connelly takes the mayoralty with 2008 votes, ahead of fellow mayoral candidates Alex Beijen [1205], Daphne Geisler [1053], and Brenda West [644].

In the Greytown Ward, the following candidates are elected: Martin Bosley [1166], Alistair Plimmer [973], and Aaron Woodcock [950].

In Featherston, the following are elected: Melissa Sadler-Futter [909], Colin Olds [659], and Rebecca Gray [629].

In Martinborough, the following are elected: Pip Maynard [1229], Aidan Ellims [1201], and Kaye McAuley [969].

The following candidates were elected to the Featherston Community Board: Warren Maxwell [1072], Annelise Schroeder [810], Tui Rutherford [767] and John Dennison [715].

A by-election is needed to fill a vacancy on the Greytown Community Board.

Louise Brown, Jo Woodcock, and Warren Woodgyer were elected by default as the only candidates to stand.

Angela Brown, Karen Krogh, Mel Maynard, and Storm Robertson were elected by default to the Martinborough Community Board as they were the only candidates to stand. – NZLDR

  • Public Interest Journalism funded through NZ On Air

Emily Ireland
Emily Ireland
Emily Ireland is Wairarapa’s Local Democracy Reporter, a Public Interest Journalism role funded through NZ On Air. Emily has worked at the Wairarapa Times-Age for seven years and has a keen interest in council decision-making and transparency.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
overcast clouds
9.5 ° C
11.6 °
9.5 °
87 %
100 %
10 °
11 °
13 °
14 °
15 °