Sunday, June 16, 2024
9.5 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Carterton wins back Home and Away trophy


Last Tuesday, the Carterton Vets hosted the Te Marua club for their annual Home and Away Trophy. For the first time since 2016, Carterton won.

Rob Saxton from Carterton was the individual winner, returning 42 stableford points. Next came Trevor Clayton with 39. Stephen Lyttle from Te Maura managed 38 stablefords, as did Peter Bain and Ron O’Neale.

On Saturday, the 9-holers also played a stableford round, and the winner on the day was Carissa Price with 20 points, followed by Jennifer Armstrong with 18. Bill Armstrong won both the NTP on hole 12 and the longest putt on Hole#18.

On Saturday, 18-hole members vied for the Granny and Grandad Trophy. Sharried Gibbens was the successful Granny. Lance Sayer, Cam Coutts, and Mike Newport shared the Grandad spoils.

All Teed Up NTP’s were won by Nigel Bain and Sharrie Gibbens. Benmar NTP was won by John Drury and Evs Bar by Mark Bebbington. Lance Sayer and Greg Hilston had a lucky day – both of them getting a two and winning 10 vouchers each.

Our Keenan Forestry Best Gross player of the day was Lance Sayer, with a gross 73.

There are still a few spots available for our 36-hole Wairarapa Foursomes Competition on Sunday. You need to email your team details to [email protected] by Friday at 9pm. $70 per team.


There was a very special event at Riversdale Beach Golf Club over the weekend – our Keeper of the Greens tournament. Here is a short summary of the event and the results.

It was a fantastic autumn day for the annual Keeper of the Greens competition where the trophy to be won was in memory of “Auld Daw” Anderson – KOTG on the Old Course, St Andrews 1840 – 1856. This event is designed to give golfers of all abilities the opportunity to compete and score well against others and uses a “Polish Peoria” calculation that was developed by Mel Lewis – another great-great grandson of “Auld Daw” Anderson and NZ PGA Professional.

They were honoured to have Ash Lewis at the clubhouse for the prizegiving and to be a part of this special day.


1st – Best Net: Michelle Hunt and Gary Herrick – 50.9; 2nd – Wendy and Davy Moore – 52.0; 3rd – Suzanne and Stuart Cookson – 52.2; 4th – Beck’s and Logan O’Neale – 52.5; 5th – Mike Southey and Jill Brewer – 52.5;

6th – Ross Smith and Andrew Brown – 52.5; 7th – Rob and Emily O’Neale – 53.0; Best Gross – Tone Borren and Francis Blythe – 56; Nearest the Pin – Suzanne Cookson and Richard Billington. Honey Hole Winner – Maurice Filer.


The ever-popular Grandmas and Grandpas tournament was held last Sunday with a good turnout for both – don’t worry, the non-Grandmas and non-Grandpas were also allowed to play in their own categories.

The Grandma winner was Marie Scrimshaw, and the Grandpa winner was Richard Pither – their grandchildren will all be proud. The non-Grandma winner was Nicola Warren, and the non-Grandpa winner was Guy Walmsley.

On the same day the Ngahau Trophies were played for by committee members, administrators and life members, these are very special trophies donated by the Hume family to recognise the work that these members do for the club on a voluntary basis. Jane Terpstra [daughter] was on hand to present the prizes and provided a fitting tribute to her parents and their involvement in the club and the Martinborough community. Both winners happened to be captains: Nicola Warren [ladies captain] and Andy Morison [club captain].

Congratulations to both men’s interclub teams. Division 10 won the division and will move to Division 9 next year, and Division 2 was runners-up. Well done to all the members who represented the club.

Unfortunately, the ladies’ teams were not so successful due to handicaps plummeting during the summer dry, which created big challenges when playing at clubs with watered fairways – better luck next year. A big thanks to all the ladies who represented the club under trying conditions – hold your heads high.

The clubhouse build continues to progress well [in fact a bit ahead of schedule]. Thanks to John Thompson for his continued project management and the team at Holmes Construction.



Monday 20 May: Vets Competition – Stableford. 1st John Carroll 21, 2nd Norman Gracie 20, 3rd Larry Ashmore 20, 4th Bob MacFarlane 19, 5th Jamie Brunton 19.

Saturday 18 May: ‘BW O’Brien Ltd’ Saturday Club Day – Par. 1st Simon Buckley +4, 2nd Andy Pottinger +2, 3rd Jeff Ogg +1, 4th Jason Lange A/S.

Thursday 16 May: ‘Brad Chittick Ray White Leaders’ Thursday Competition – Stableford. 1st Jeff Ogg 40, 2nd Brian Leighton 40, 3rd Allan Carroll 38, 4th Carl Christensen 37, 5th Nuki Gordon 36, 6th Andy Pottinger 36.

Wednesday 15 May: 9-Hole Ladies – Stroke / Stableford. Nett results 1st Susie Williams 32, 2nd Gill Neal 33, 3rd Helen Ordish 33; Stableford results 1st Susie Williams 21, 2nd Gill Neal 20, 3rd Helen Ordish 20.


Monday 20 May: 9-Hole Ladies 3–1 WIN vs PBCG2 at Manor Park GC – singles wins Trish Newcombe 5/3, Helen Ordish 5/3, Sally Lowes 3/2.

Saturday 18 May: Division 2: 12.5–2.5 WIN vs Karori at Masterton GC – singles wins Gavin Harris 7/5, James Crawley 5/4, David Inglis 5/3, John Ryan 5/3, Peter Jackson 3/2, Rob Blackett 3/2, George Deans 2/1, Nathan Frew 1 Up. Division 6: 7.5–7.5 TIE vs Mornington at Mornington GC – singles wins Nuki Gordon 6/5, Peter Forrester 6/5, David Cook 4/3, Brock Surridge 3/1, Phil Rutene 1 Up. Division 9: 0–15 LOSS vs Te Marua at Te Marua GC – no singles wins.

Friday 17 May: Riverside Cup 3–3 TIE vs Riversdale at Pahiatua GC – singles wins Janice Hayes 5/4, Marilyn Strang 4/3, Jeanette McNae 2/1.


On Saturday, the club competition was stableford, and first was Michelle Coley, with a huge 44 points. Phil Granich was second with 38 points, with Kris Towgood third with 36 points and Wayne Williams fourth with 35 points. Michelle Coley also scored a hole in two. On Saturday the Men’s interclub Division 6 team won their division in the Wellington interclub so congratulations to them.

The competition on Sunday was stableford also and in group 1 Antonia Thompson was first with 41 points, with Byron Karaitiana was second with 38 points, Joe Thompson third with 37 points and Allan Biel fourth with 36 points. In group 2 Chic Reiri was first with 39 points, with Bill Ousey second with 37 points. Ian Grant was third with 34 points and that was on countback from Jack McGlashan, who was fourth with 34 points also. Holes in two were scored by Chris Wenden and Mike Towgood.

This weekend is Walker fourball qualifying on Saturday and Sunday with the club competition medal on both days.

Roger Parker
Roger Parker
Roger Parker is the Times-Age news director. In the Venn-diagram of his two great loves, news and sport, sports news is the sweet spot.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
scattered clouds
9.5 ° C
9.9 °
9.5 °
85 %
26 %
10 °
14 °
10 °
11 °
10 °