Tuesday, July 23, 2024
10.1 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

New clubhouse has a new roof


Following a huge push from the team at Holmes Construction to finish the roof in one day, the new clubhouse is safe from what the Wairarapa winter can throw at it.

These are exciting times for the club members to see this milestone achieved. Still a long way to go and a few more dollars to be raised – a big thank you to all those members who have helped by contributing their time, expertise and/or dollars to get us to this stage.

Apologies to the winners of the last couple of weeks for not putting your name in lights – your writer has been galavanting across the ditch.

This week’s results continued the trend of high scoring – it will come to an end as the grass gets longer and wetter. 9-hole ladies – Tania Williamson +1, 18-hole ladies – Jo-Anne Loe 34 points, Grumpies – Shayne Hammond +4, Thursday Club – Stu Taplin 40 points, Saturday – Sandy Bidwell net 73, Sunday – Josh Hawkins net 70.

The Ladies and Mens competitions are in full swing – Captain’s Trophy/s, WG Martin 4BBB, AB Martin 4BBB, H Kershaw Foursomes, Howie Cup, and the Shoot Outs. Good luck to all competitors.


The Veterans played the first round of the Winter Eclectic last week. Murray Smith was the winner with 39 stableford points. Next was Dale Fayen with 37, followed by Murray Burns and Barry Orme with 36 points.

Our 9-holers played a stableford round. David Ross won on a countback from Carissa Price, both coming in with 20 stableford points. Terry Price and Anne Ross were next with 16 points. The longest put went to Bill Armstrong. Nearest the line went to Andy Gibson.

A good field of 18-holers turned out on Saturday. The Ladies played the first round of the Tararua Cup. Sharrie Gibbons came in with 34 stablefords, followed by Dale Fayen with 31.

The men played the first round of Tararua Cup. Tipi Rimene has been playing very well of late and once again was the winner on the day with 39 stableford points. Steve Brooky, Les Cherry and Stu Oliver came in next with 37 stableford points.

Steve Brooky won our Keenan Forestry Best Gross with a round of 74. The were no results to hand for our All Teed Up, Benmar and Clareville nearest the Pin holes.



Tuesday 18 June: ‘Forsyth Barr’ Tuesday Competition – Stableford. 1st Lorraine Inglis 35, 2nd Larraine Duckett 34, 3rd Tinks Pottinger 34, 4th Lola Ogg 34. All Teed Up closest to the pin hole 8 Larraine Duckett, Forsyth Barr closest to the pin hole 18 Tinks Pottinger.

Monday 17 June: Vets – Stableford. 1st Hugh Blundell 20, 2nd Kevin Burdan 20, 3rd Carl Christensen 18, 4th Carol Tudhope 18, 5th Jill Slight 18. Nearest the pin on hole 13 Benny Marriott.

Saturday 15 June: ‘BW O’Brien Ltd’ Saturday Club Day – Riverside Salver. 1st Nuki Gordon 39, 2nd Phil Rutene 38, 3rd Ash Peterson 37, 4th Andy Pottinger 37, 5th Tom Otterson 36, 6th Brian Leighton 36.

Thursday 13 June: ‘Brad Chittick Ray White Leaders’ Thursday Competition – Stableford. 1st Ian Buchanan 39, 2nd Dennis Hogg 38, 3rd Allan Carroll 36, 4th Ash Peterson 36, 5th Shaun Hewitt 36.

Wednesday 12 June: 9-Hole Ladies – Stableford. 1st Karen Aitkenhead 25, 2nd Rachel Monk 24, 3rd Fran Stewart 22. PGG Wrightson’s longest drive Alex Tomlinson. All Teed Up nearest the pin Debbie Coom.


The club competition on Saturday was medal and matches in the Walker Fourball being played.

In group 1 Karl Burling was first with nett 71, Stu Northe was second with nett 72 and Wayne Williams was third with nett 73. In group 2 Kris Towgood was first with nett 72 and that was on countback from Steve Blunsden also with nett 72, and Malcolm Benseman was third with nett 73. There were no holes in two, and the nearest the pins went to Stu Northe, who got two of them, and Karl Burling, who also got two of them, Terry Fleet and Nick Harding.

Sunday also saw a medal round being played and in group 1 Chris Wenden was first with nett 72, with Jeremy Harp second with nett 73 and Kevin Jury third with nett 74 and that was on countback from Byron Karaitiana also with nett 74. In group 2 Daniel Haxton was first with nett 73, with Brian Chappell third with nett 75 and Maurice O’Reilly was third with nett 78 and that was on countback from Russell Kawana also with 78 nett. Holes in two were scored by John Dodd and Chris Wenden.

On Tuesday, the Vet’s played a stableford round and Trevor Dewis was first with 36 points and that was on countback from Ken Downing, who also had 36 points, and Nan McNae was third with 31 points.

The Club competition this weekend is stableford on Saturday and Sunday. Don’t forget to get your entries in for the Matariki 2-person Ambrose Tournament on Friday 28 June 2024 with entry fee $20 per player and a shotgun start at 10am.

Roger Parker
Roger Parker
Roger Parker is the Times-Age news director. In the Venn-diagram of his two great loves, news and sport, sports news is the sweet spot.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
scattered clouds
10.1 ° C
11.1 °
10.1 °
65 %
39 %
11 °
12 °
14 °
14 °
14 °