Monday, May 27, 2024
7.3 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Wet and wild at Tauherenikau

Driver Scott Donald with navigator Nicole Reesby from Featherston competing in the jet sprints. PHOTOS/JADE CVETKOV


[email protected]

Wairarapa Jet Sprint Championship took place over the weekend at Tauherenikau Racing and Event Centre.

There were three racing categories available for competition this year, limited to 412 cubic inches of engine size.

Group B boats were limited to 412 cubic inches of engine size, Group A boats were limited to 412 cubic inches of engine size and naturally aspirated, and then the notorious Superboat category could have engines as large as drivers desired, according to New Zealand Jet Sprint Association.

Driver Sam Grey with navigator Mike Allen from Carterton competing in the jet sprints.

The event featured “multiple world champions” from all around New Zealand along with seven local drivers, and a few novices, according to to New Zealand Jet Sprint Association.

The jet sprints event takes place each year at Tauherenikau.

“The Tauherenikau Racecourse and Events Centre is also home to the Wairarapa jet sprinting track. Boats measuring only 12 feet long, with engines of up to 1500hp, battle it out in a specially built track in the middle of the racetrack,” Wairarapa Racing said.

Winners for Group B were Bryce Baron and Kylie Baron in first place, John Verry, and Leila Burder in second place, and Kris Rasmussen and Holly Sutherland in third place.

Winners for Lucas Oil Group A were Ollie Silverton and Jess Sit in first place, Si Gibbon and Donna Candish in second place, and Sean and Fay Rice in third place.

MouthFresh Superboats winners were Sam Newdick and Shama Putaranui in first place, Glen and Hayley Glen Head in second place, and Rob and Ange Coley in third place.

Round two of the Jet Sprint Championships will take place in Whanganui on December 27.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
overcast clouds
7.3 ° C
7.3 °
7.3 °
94 %
99 %
7 °
12 °
13 °
11 °
14 °