Sunday, July 14, 2024
7.8 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Sports Awards to go online

A section of the attendees from the last time the Wairarapa Times-Age Sports awards were held ‘live’ in 2019. Last year’s was cancelled and this year’s will be held on an online platform. PHOTOS/FILE


[email protected]

Restrictions around the covid-19 alert levels have forced the cancellation of the Wairarapa Times-Age Sports Awards ceremony.

The blue riband event was set for Monday, November 15, at the Carterton Events Centre but the organisers called it off on Tuesday because alert level two restrictions limited the number of people who could attend and the food and beverage service.

Public interest in the ceremony had been high, with double Olympic gold medallist and five-time world champion rower Mahe Drysdale confirmed as guest speaker.

2019 Coach of the Year Mark Harris, left, with sponsor Christian Jorgensen from Core Legal.

Last year’s awards ceremony were cancelled, but this year’s will still go ahead on November 15 covering all 14 event categories and including the recognition of all finalists on an online platform commencing at 6pm with the links available on the Times-Age’s Facebook and website pages on the day.

As well, a souvenir programme showcasing all the 2020-2021 finalists will be inserted into the Wairarapa Times-Age on Saturday, November 13.

This is the second major change to the awards ceremony planned to celebrate sporting achievement from April 1, 2019, to March 31, 2021.

The event was initially scheduled for September 23, only to be postponed with the onset of the covid-19 level four lockdown in August.

The winners will be showcased in a special spread in the Wairarapa Times-Age on Wednesday, November 17.


Primary School: Gladstone School, Lakeview School, Masterton Intermediate School, St Matthew’s Collegiate

College: Kuranui College, Rathkeale College, St Matthew’s Collegiate, Wairarapa College

Junior Sports Team: Featherston Amateur Wrestling Club, MIS Baseball, St Matthew’s Primary Cricket, Wairarapa 2020 Year 8 Boy’s Cricket

Youth Sports Team: Rathkeale 1st XI Football, St Matthew’s 1st XI Cricket, Wairarapa Pony Club Mounted Games, Wairarapa United U19 Football

Senior Sports Team: Dalefield Premier Men’s Hockey, Dalefield Premier Women’s Hockey, Masterton Golf Duncan Cup, Wairarapa Men’s Bowls

Coach: Dane Lett, Joe Harwood, Mark Harris, Michael O’Connor

Junior Sports Personality: Alexandria Anstis, Lucas Sargent, Maggie Shields, Nate George

Youth Sports Personality: Jake Jonas, Jayden Webb Milner, Jonty Roubos, Ocean Bartlett.

Disabled Sports Personality: Ben Taylor, Jack Lewington, Josh Taylor

Senior Sports Personality: Dane Lett, James Goodger, Liam Lamb, Stefan Hook

Sports Club: Dalefield Hockey. Featherston Amateur Wrestling Club, Gladstone Hockey, Gladstone Tennis

Volunteer: Blue Hansen, Carol MacDonald, Kevin Wilson, Liam Montgomery

Administrator: David Parke, Kath Houlistan, Mark Elliott, Steve Sale

Junior Official: April Milne, Lulu McNelly, Maralyse Whiteman, Nikita Johnstone

Official: Alistair Payne, Mark Harris, Rebecca Mahoney, Peter Sigvertsen

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
broken clouds
7.8 ° C
7.8 °
7.8 °
98 %
76 %
9 °
10 °
12 °
13 °
14 °