Saturday, July 20, 2024
10.6 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Sports Awards finalists revealed

World Cup and Commonwealth Games competitors, national champions, an ice hockey international, a scooter exponent, rising young stars, and outstanding, hard-working volunteers are just some of the finalists in the Wairarapa Times-Age Sports Awards.

The decision to split the Senior and Youth Sports Personalities into Sportsman and Sportswoman categories proved a winner, and nominations in all four categories barrelled in.

The Youth Sportswoman was particularly strong and difficult to assess, with at least four national champions or national development squad members failing to make the final four.

Three-time Supreme Award winner Dane Lett is a Senior Men’s finalist, having brought up his century of internationals for the Black Sticks.

But he faces stiff competition from Golden Shears finalist Paerata Abraham, drag-racing national champion Dwane Garrett and triple gold medallist at the WKA mixed martial arts world championships, Corban Mita.

New Zealand woolhandling international Cushla Abraham joins husband Paerata as a finalist, along with national cricket development team member Ocean Bartlett, New Zealand barefoot water skiing and Muay Thai representative Sarah Linton, and national bowls singles champion of champions Tanya Wheeler, in the Senior Sportswoman category.

Multitalented James Church – a Central Districts U17 representative and NZ secondary school swimming medallist, national secondary international Harrison Dudley, mixed martial arts national champion Boston Moylan, and U18 ice hockey international Samson Jansen Middleton, who was part of the team that won the world division III championship, were named from a competitive Youths Sportsman category.

The Youth Sportswoman finalists are NZ U18 and U21 hockey quad member and national crossfit champion Hannah Donald, NZ Cricket U19 international Emma McLeod, NZ secondary school netball triallist Sovaia Sabutu, and national swimming champion and NZ Open Water Swimming representative Ava Wilson.

The four to make the cut in the Junior Sports Personality are Violet Fisher [athletics and football], Wyatt Malcolm [hockey], national archery champion Holly Monks, and scooter champion Arden Watt.

Four-time winner Josh Taylor [athletics], Orlaith Geary [swimming], Thomas Morland [basketball and athletics], and Sam Neal [athletics] are the finalists in the Para Sports category.

The Martinborough Bowling Club have two finalists in the Senior Sports Team category – the club’s national champion of champions silver medal-winning men’s four and the women’s interclub team who finished fourth at the national interclub championships. Intercity Softball Premier Two champions Giants Blue and the Greytown Football Club Men’s First Team complete the four.

The winners of all categories will be considered for the Supreme Award. There is also a People Choice Award and a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The winners will be announced at a gala awards ceremony on Thursday, June 8, at the Carterton Events Centre.

A voting form is included in the centre of today’s Times-Age. Public voting closes on Wednesday, May 3.

The other finalist in
their categories are:

Youth Sports Team

St Matthew’s Collegiate 1st XI Hockey, Solway College Equestrian team, Wairarapa College Girls Hockey 1st XI, and Wairarapa College Premier One Netball.

Junior Sports Team

Carterton Cobras U11 Rugby Team, Masterton Primary Schools 4x100m Boys Relay Team, Masterton Primary Schools 4x100m Girls Relay Team, Solway College Intermediate Athletics Team


Russell Geange [swimming], Mark Harris [athletics], Cameron Lindsay [football], Keely Riwai-Couch [netball]


Jules Carter and Marian McWilliams [equestrian], Mark Harris [athletics], Alistair Payne [rugby], Peter Sigvertsen [hockey]

Junior Contribution
to Sport

Sally Booth [netball and cricket], James Church [cricket], Alex Mason [hockey and cricket], Toby Nelson [hockey and cricket]


John Kirkup [tennis], Gail Miller [hockey], Cilla Paulik [tennis], Tim Stevenson [football]


Darren Meyrick [bowls], Neil Preston [basketball], Matt Spooner [tennis], Ginni Thurston [equestrian]

Sports Club

Athletics and Cycling Masterton, Carterton AFC, Greytown Junior Football Club, Martinborough Bowling Club

Chris Cogdale
Chris Cogdale
Chris “Coggie” Cogdale has extensive knowledge of sport in Wairarapa having covered it for more than 30 years, including radio for 28 years. He has been the sports guru at the Wairarapa Times-Age since 2019.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
light rain
10.6 ° C
11.6 °
10.6 °
97 %
100 %
11 °
13 °
10 °
10 °
13 °