Saturday, July 20, 2024
10.6 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Special award for Greytown coach

Stefan Hook … Men’s Representative Player of the Year. PHOTO/FILE


[email protected]

Juniors’ coach Brent Register is over the moon at being recognised with the Wairarapa Cricket Special Services to Cricket Award.

The award was to be presented at the annual cricket awards dinner in early April, but with their cancellation because of the covid-19 Alert Level 4, the category winners have been announced on the Wairarapa Cricket Facebook page daily over the past four weeks.

Register started coaching Kiwi Cricket for four- and five-year-olds at the Greytown club in 2011 and has progressed through Super 8, Incrediball, and Hardball cricket and on to junior representative cricket.

He is the coach of the girls Under-13 side. His children, Flynn [15] and Ava [12] are both avid cricketers.

Brent Register … won the award for Special Services to Cricket.

Register said receiving the award was ‘fantastic’.

“It was totally unexpected but it is a nice thrill to be recognised,” he said.

“You don’t coach to get accolades, you do it for the kids, but it is nice to get something.”

St Mary’s School teacher Brent Ballantyne was named Volunteer of the Year for his coaching at the school, Carterton Junior Cricket, and with the Wairarapa Under-15 girls representative side.

On the representative front, Highmark Homes Wairarapa fast bowler Stefan Hook was named the Men’s Representative Player of the Year.

Hook took 16 wickets in the Furlong Cup competition, at an average of 15.44 and a best of 5-48 in the first innings win over Hawke’s Bay.

He also showed useful form with the bat, with a top score of 64 at the Chapple Cup one-day tournament.

Hook also made his first class debut with Central Districts against Wellington at the Basin Reserve.

Fellow pace bowler Ethan Childs won the Seth Rance Bowling Cup, with 20 wickets at 12.80 and a best of 6-51 against Manawatu.

Brock Price secured the Sam Curtis Cup for batting. Price was top scorer with an aggregate of 347 runs at 31.54 and a top score of 96 at the Chapple Cup.

Price and Hook also cleaned up the trophies for premier men’s cricket.

Price scored an incredible 1009 runs at an average of 91.73 over the Coastal Challenge, Bidwill Cup, and T20 competitions, including a high score of 165 in the Bidwill Cup final.

Hook captured 37 wickets at 11.38, and a best of 14-77, including 8-33 in the first innings, in the Bidwill Cup final.

Sanjay Patel … won the Spirit of Cricket Award.

Lansdowne veteran Sanjay Patel was presented with the Spirit of Cricket Award for the best and fairest.

Southey Sayer Wairarapa Korus captain Melissa Hansen was awarded the Bracewell Cup for outstanding senior women’s player and the Trust House Batting Trophy.

Although Hansen only played three 40-over matches for the team, she averaged 141 with a top score of 76 against Taranaki. Hansen also headed the bowling attack, with her tight line and pace always difficult to get away.

Medium fast bowler Kate Sims took out the Trust House Bowling Trophy, claiming nine wickets in the 40-over games at an average of 12.11 and a best of 5-31against Hawke’s Bay.

Kayarna Jones-Dennes won the Elizabeth Perry Cup for Emerging Senior Women.

In the Umpires Cup senior men’s competition, Greytown’s Roshan Sugathan won the John Gray Batting Trophy, and Rathkeale’s Jacob Osborne won the Peter Walker Bowling Cup.

The Bradbury Cup for most promising junior cricketer was awarded to Samuel Payne.

During the representative season Payne scored 437 runs, at 145.67 and a highest score of 62 not out. He was unbeaten in eight of his 11 innings.

Payne also took 22 wickets with a best of 5-12.

The Trust House Trophy for secondary cricketer of the year was won by Ocean Bartlett from St Matthew’s Collegiate.

Bartlett was a member of the Korus, was a key performer for St Matthew’s in their third place finish at the Gillette Venus Trophy national secondary schoolgirls’ tournament, and represented the New Zealand Maori Secondary Schoolgirls team.

The Wairarapa Cricket Team of the Year was presented to Burger King Red Star for their top four finish in the Coastal Challenge and victory in the Bidwill Cup.

Other winners are:

Under-18 Girls

Batting – Kayarna Jones-Denness, Bowling – Gracie Donaldson, Coaches’ Award – Chichi Beck

Under-17 Boys

Batting – Jake Jonas, Bowling – Gus Borren, Coaches’ Award – Mark Steventon

Under-15 Boys

Batting – Flynn Register, Bowling – Conall Doyle, Coaches’ Award – Jacob Day and Daniel Trass

Under-15 Girls

Batting – Emma McLeod, Bowling – Belle Clark, Coaches’ Award – Sian Wheeler

Year 8 Boys

Batting – Samuel Payne, Bowling – Patrick Wellbrock, Coaches’ Award – Sam Jonas

Under-13 Girls

Batting – Vanessa Taylor, Bowling – Tessa Percy, Coaches’ Award – Anita Lyford

Under-13 Girls Development

Batting – Lily Hunt, Bowling – Dina Morrison, Coaches’ Award – Sophie Sweeney

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
light rain
10.6 ° C
11.6 °
10.6 °
97 %
100 %
11 °
13 °
10 °
10 °
13 °