Tuesday, March 5, 2024
15.1 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Rance wins top accolade

Seth Rance bowling for the Black Caps against Pakistan. PHOTO/GETTY IMAGES


[email protected]

Seth Rance’s elevation to the Black Caps after years of sublime performances for Central Districts saw him scoop the Supreme Champion award at Wednesday night’s Wairarapa Times-Age Sports Awards at Copthorne Solway Park.

He also won the Senior Sports Personality of the Year award.

Rance made his debut for the Black Caps in Dublin last year and has played two one-day internationals and four twenty20 internationals.

He took three wickets in his second ODI against Bangladesh, and three wickets in T20s against the West Indies and Pakistan respectively.

Rance also continued to show he is one of New Zealand’s premier bowlers with his form for Central Districts, helping them to the Plunket Shield title and finishing as the third-equal highest wicket-taker in the Super Smash competition.

Powerlifter Katia Mackenzie was rewarded for her dominant record-breaking performances by being named Youth Sports Personality of the Year, while Louis Oliver won Junior Sports Personality of the Year for his efforts in swimming and several other sports.

Jack Lewington won the Disabled Sports Personality of the Year award after being identified by Paralympics New Zealand for his swimming potential and winning medals at the New Zealand Secondary Schools Championships.

Wairarapa’s excellence on the hockey turf was highlighted by several teams and individuals winning awards, with Dalefield Hockey Club named Sports Club of the Year and their premier women’s team winning Senior Sports Team of the Year.

The St Matthew’s Collegiate First XI girls’ hockey team won Youth Sports Team of the Year after winning the premier 1 Wellington competition, while Tania Scott won Coach of the Year after taking the Masterton Intermediate School A-grade team to a local title and the Hatch Cup boys’ team to a fourth-place finish at the national tournament.

Junior Sports Team of the Year went to the St Mary’s girls’ cricket team – which also had two Hadlow School players – that won the Central Districts regional competition and finished third at the national tournament.

Jill Day won Administrator of the Year, while Official of the Year went to Brent Sowry and Junior Official of the Year to Charlotte Hamill-Harris.

Tania Lindop won Volunteer of the Year for her work in swimming in the region.

The Primary School of the Year award was won by Pirinoa School, which only has a roll of about 45 but has enjoyed some excellent results.

College of the Year went to Wairarapa College which has produced ongoing success at regional, national and international levels.

Dalefield and Black Sticks hockey representative Dane Lett was the winner of the People’s Choice award after making the national squad to contest the Commonwealth Games.

The Lifetime Achievement award went to Neil Cadwallader for his work with the Masterton Young Citizens Club.


Primary School of the Year: Pirinoa School

College of the Year: Wairarapa College

Junior Sports Team of the Year: St Mary’s girls’ cricket team

Youth Sports Team of the Year: St Matthew’s Collegiate first XI hockey

Senior Sports Team of the Year: Dalefield premier women’s hockey

Sports Club of the Year: Dalefield Hockey Club

Volunteer of the Year: Tania Lindop

Administrator of the Year: Jill Day

Junior Official of the Year: Charlotte Hamill-Harris

Official of the Year: Brent Sowry

Coach of the Year: Tania Scott

Junior Sports Personality of the Year: Louis Oliver

Youth Sports Personality of the Year: Katia Mackenzie

Senior Sports Personality of the Year: Seth Rance

Disabled Sports Personality of the Year: Jack Lewington

People’s Choice: Dane Lett

Lifetime Achievement: Neil Cadwallader

Supreme Champion: Seth Rance

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
scattered clouds
15.1 ° C
15.5 °
15.1 °
70 %
44 %
14 °
19 °
20 °
17 °
22 °