Thursday, July 18, 2024
10.1 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Price, Speers in limelight

Brock Price, over 800 runs in club cricket. PHOTOS/FILE

The batting heroics of Lansdowne’s Brock Price on both the club and representative scene saw him take centre stage at the Wairarapa Cricket annual awards function last week.
Price took away the major batting trophy, the Dermot Payton Cup, for club performance by amassing a staggering 834 runs, including a double century in the Bidwill Cup final against Greytown, at an average of 64.15.
And he was also in superb form for Wairarapa, scoring 417 runs for them at 41.70 including centuries against both Manawatu and Hawke’s Bay, an effort which saw him become the holder of the Curtis Trophy.
The Payton Trophy for senior men’s representative player of the year was shared by Price and Red Star opening bowler Stefan Hook, who won the Rance Trophy with his 27 wickets at an average of 19.70.
The Volunteer of the Year award went to Nikki Robinson of Carterton JCB, recognising her input into the junior game, and Carterton’s progression of its junior club to the point where they now field seven teams.
Central Hinds and Wairarapa Korus opener Melissa Hansen snared the senior representative women’s batting award with 209 runs at 34.83 and the bowling award went to Olivia Roseingrave who claimed 12 wickets at 7.60.
The awards evening celebrated the completion of another successful season for Wairarapa in the provincial arena, the Hawke Cup men’s team having registered two outright wins and a first innings victory and the Southey Sayer Korus women’s team tying for first in the Mike Shrimpton Trophy competition.
Both the Apache Jack Wairarapa Under-18 and Under-15 girls’ teams dominated their respective Central Districts competitions while the Lone Star Under-15 boys and Wairarapa Green Under-12 boys’ teams also produced excellent results.
Opportunity was also taken to recognise the achievement of players who were selected to play for Central Districts with 19 being Blues over the past season, from the Under-15 girls age group to the Hinds on the female side of the game and from the Under-19s to CD A, the Stags and the Blacks Caps [Seth Rance] on the male side.

Hardball Premiership Trophy 2017: Greytown Blue.
Bradbury Cup for best JCB club season performance: Andrew Taylor (Red Star) 332 runs at 83.00.
Bidwill Cup two-day championship: Lansdowne.
Bidwell Challenge Cup: Greytown.
Umpire’s Cup one-day championship: Red Star.
Wairarapa Cricket T20 Cup: Greytown.
Thursday Cup for best and fairest team: Red Star.
Dermot Payton Batting Cup: Brock Price (Lansdowne) 834 runs at 64.15.
DK Logan Bowling Cup: Robbie Speers (Greytown) 32 wickets at 15.72.
Chairman’s Cup championship: Red Star No 2.
Times-Age Cup for first round winners: Carterton.
Wairarapa Cricket T20 Cup: Greytown Coasties.
John Gray Batting Cup: Byron Hegglin (Greytown) 421 runs.
Peter Walker Bowling Cup: Troy Burling (Red Star) 31 wickets.
Batting award: Melissa Hansen 209 runs at 34.83.
Bowling award: Olivia Roseingrave 12 wickets at 7.60.
Elizabeth Perry Trophy for emerging women’s player: Kate Sims.
Bracewell Trophy for excellence in women’s cricket: Georgia Atkinson.
Curtis Trophy for batting: Brock Price 417 runs at 41.70.
Rance Trophy for bowling: Stefan Hook 27 wickets at 19.70.

Trust House Trophy for JCB representative player of the year: Georgia Atkinson.
Payton Trophy for senior men’s representative player of the year: Brock Price and Stefan Hook.
Representative Team of the Year: Wairarapa Under-18 girls.
WCA Volunteer of the Year: Nikki Robinson (Carterton JCB).

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
light rain
10.1 ° C
10.1 °
8.3 °
98 %
100 %
10 °
13 °
15 °
12 °
13 °