Saturday, July 13, 2024
6.7 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Masterton dominate Hope Gibbons

Lesley Mouat. PHOTO/FILE


Masterton teams dominated the 2019 Hope Gibbons team time trials held in Wairarapa on Sunday.

The prestigious trophy is much sought-after in Wellington interclub cycling and the Athletics and Cycling Masterton club were desperate to win the trophy after finishing second last year.

The team of Ben Knight, Matt Webb-Smith, Mark Langlands and Dan Waluszewski duly delivered, winning the trophy and the senior men’s race, completing the 40km course in 52 minutes and 24 seconds.

They were more than two minutes ahead of the Wellington team of Tijs Robinson, Matt Seeley, Peter Mora and Angus Taylor.

Another Wellington team of Peter Moore, Jaimie Campbell, Ben Storey and Matthew Webber was third, four minutes slower than the winners.

Lesley Mouat and Belinda Fuller continued their good form from the national road cycling championships in Timaru where Mouat won a gold medal and Fuller a bronze medal in their respective age group races.

They combined with Emily Luytens and Kirsten Goodin to win the women’s race in 1:06.51.

A Scots College team of Elliot Robertson, George Tompkin and Harrison Stew won the junior boys’ race in a time of 24.15. They were 59 seconds quicker than a two-up team of Caleb Roberts and Toby Braun.

A Wellington College team of Joshua Foote, Sam Mitchell and James de Hair were third.

The junior girls’ race was a battle between Wairarapa College and St Matthew’s.

The Waicol pair of Sydney and Jaimie Blackburn completed the 16km race in 32.38, just six seconds faster than the St Matt’s team of Annabelle Smith, Scarlet Freeman and Lucy Stevens.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
overcast clouds
6.7 ° C
6.7 °
5.5 °
95 %
100 %
7 °
11 °
10 °
11 °
11 °