Thursday, July 25, 2024
14.9 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Lett’s Supreme Award hat-trick

Dane Lett, left, challenges Australian Tom Wickham during a 2021 transtasman test. PHOTO/GETTY IMAGES


[email protected]

Dane Lett is the region’s first three-time Supreme Award winner

At last night’s Wairarapa Times-Age sports awards at Carterton Events Centre, the New Zealand hockey Olympian also became only the second three-time winner of the Senior Sports Personality of the Year. The first was five-time NZ Rally champion Richard Mason.

Lett was crowned overall champion at last night’s gala ceremony to recognise the region’s sporting achievements.

Lett represented New Zealand at the Tokyo Olympics and played in a transtasman series and Pro-League matches against Australia. He was also co-captain of the South team who won the inaugural North-South series in Hamilton.

Lifetime Achievement

Rod Sutherland was honoured for 63 years as a competitor, administrator, and volunteer in athletics and cycling.

Sutherland, 78, represented New Zealand in the marathon and won several national titles in athletics, cycling, and multisport.

After giving up competing, Sutherland turned his hand to administration and volunteer work, assisting with the running of many Harrier and cycling events.

He helped start the organisation of the Pedal for Parkinson’s cycle ride and supported several people with disabilities and sight impairment as a tandem cyclist, allowing them to maintain physical fitness and compete in cycling events.

Youth Sports Personality Sam Blundell. PHOTO/FILE

Youth Sports Personality

Sam Blundell won this highly competitive category by winning the New Zealand Secondary Schools Motocross Championship, as well as the Taupo and Manawatu-Orion winter series.

Junior Sports Personality

William Orsborn picked up the award for producing the highlight of the Wairarapa tennis season, winning the Open Boys grade at the Central Region primary schools final – the first by a Wairarapa boy since ATP doubles player Marcus Daniell.

Disabled Sports Personality

Josh Taylor won his third consecutive award, and fourth overall, for his multiple titles in para events at national, North Island, secondary schools, and regional athletics events.

Coach of the Year

Katherine Reisima [nee van Woerkom] coached Dalefield to win the Wellington women’s premier championship for the second year in a row in her first season as player-coach.

Senior Sports Team

The Dalefield premier women’s hockey team added to the club’s proud history for winning their second consecutive Wellington premier championship in a tense final with Harbour City that was decided in a shootout.

Youth Sports Team

The Wairarapa College A netball team collected the trophy by winning their first Wairarapa premier one championship in 16 years with a 53-52 win over Celtic in a thrilling final.

Junior Sports Team

The Douglas Villa Minibeens completed an unbeaten season in the strong Capital Football 13th grade junior premier league, winning all 17 games, scoring a mammoth 87 goals and conceding only 14.

Club of the Year

The Greytown Rugby Club plays an integral role in the Greytown community.

The highlight for the club last year was the unbeaten season in the Wairarapa-Bush premier grade, winning the Chris ‘Moose’ Kapene Memorial Cup and the inaugural Lane Penn Trophy for the ‘Town and Country’ series.

Volunteer of the Year

Nifo Tauiliili was rewarded for her outstanding job as the key volunteer running the Featherston Sports Hub. She is chief fundraiser, marketer, and organising queen for all kids’ sport and has been the main force behind the growth of junior sport in Featherston.

Administrator of the Year
2016 Supreme Award winner Jorge Sandoval took out the category for organising and successful running of the Trust House NZ Cycle Classic and the Trust House North Island team series, both held under strict covid-19 requirements.

Wairarapa’s leading hockey umpire Peter Sigvertsen was recognised for his appointment to the NZ Hockey Umpires Foundation Panel.

Sigvertsen regularly umpired in the Wellington premier men’s and women’s competitions and helped develop Wairarapa’s aspiring umpires.

Junior Official

Flynn Register received the trophy after he was awarded the Hockey NZ Alan Lint Scholarship for U19 up and coming male umpires, having taken up the whistle in 2020 and progressing to officiate in senior games.

College of the Year

Wairarapa College’s success at regional and national level in several sports, including victory in the Wairarapa Premier One Netball Championship, and the Manawatu Hockey Intercity Girls Championship, Mia Bartlett’s win in the national under-18 javelin title, and many other achievements saw Waicol win the trophy.

Primary School of the Year

Fernridge School was rewarded for its high percentage of pupils playing organised sports and competing in interschool events. It has a wonderfully supportive community with staff, parents, siblings, ex-pupils and even grandparents putting up their hands to coach the many teams.

People’s Choice Award

Disabled Sports Personality winner Josh Taylor took out the sought-after trophy, voted on by the public, with a massive 745 votes.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
clear sky
14.9 ° C
14.9 °
14.9 °
58 %
6 %
15 °
15 °
15 °
14 °
14 °