Wednesday, May 22, 2024
10.1 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Korus dominant in new franchise team

Central Hinds captain Anlo van Deventer is yet to play for her home province Wairarapa. PHOTO/GETTY IMAGES


[email protected]

Wairarapa players dominate the Tararua Kotahi squad for the new women’s Central Super League [CSL].

Ten Korus were named in the 13-strong squad for the new franchise competition, which will be played over two weekends of the season.

The players from throughout Central Districts were split into four tiers based on ability, age, and experience.

Each squad was allocated a tier one Central Hinds player, and six developing players, while the remaining players were placed in a draft.

The Hinds’ one-day captain Anlo van Deventer was placed in the Kotahi squad and was joined by fellow Hinds Melissa Hansen, and Monique Rees as first- and second-round picks.

Olivia Clark, Elizabeth Cohr, Kayarna Jones-Dennes, Emma McLeod, Olivia Roseingrave, Gemma Sims, and Ella Southey were other Korus to make the cut.

Hawke’s Bay bowling allrounder Sophie Pyott, and the Nelson pair of wicketkeeper Kate Gaging, and Ella Ranson make up the squad.

Former Central Districts and Wellington batsman Brady ‘BJ’ Barnett will coach the Kotahi.

Korus Ocean Bartlett and Gracie Donaldson have been picked up by the Palmerston North Tui, along with former teammate Georgia Atkinson, who is now living in Manawatu.

Central Districts coach for female performance and pathways Jamie Watkins was thrilled with the final make-up of the four teams.

“I’m sure it will be stimulating for the likes of Kate Gaging to have the opportunity to train and play alongside and just talk cricket with such experienced North Island-based Hinds such as Anlo van Deventer and Melissa Hansen,” he said.

“We will have some really interesting match-ups across the 52 players, both in the one-day and T20 formats and that’s what the CSL is all about, creating greater connectivity in the women’s game across our entire Central Districts region.”

The competition starts with one-day matches in Palmerston North on the weekend of November 28-29 and will culminate with a T20 weekend in February.

Meanwhile, Southey Sayer Wairarapa Korus coach Simon Roseingrave has named a youthful but talented squad for the Central Districts Shrimpton Trophy competition.

Allrounder Hansen will captain the side which features two newcomers, Chichi Beck, a right-arm medium pacer from St Matthew’s Collegiate, and van Deventer who has yet to represent the Korus despite having close links to the district.

Missing from last season are Atkinson, now working for Manawatu Cricket, Kate Sims, who has been named in the extended Canterbury Magicians squad, Tahlia Jones-Dennes [pregnant], and Macy Lyford [injury].

Despite nursing significant injuries, Olivia Roseingrave [knee], and Sian Wheeler [hip] have been included in the squad.

Simon Roseingrave said the loss of Kate Sims, Atkinson, and the potential absence of Olivia Roseingrave is a big blow, with close to 80 Korus’ appearances among the three.

He was confident the team would be competitive and expected several players to go close to CD Under-19s selection.

The Korus will play Hawke’s Bay in the opening round of the Shrimpton Trophy in Masterton on November 15.

Wairarapa Korus squad:

Melissa Hansen [captain], Ocean Bartlett, Chichi Beck, Olivia Clark, Elizabeth Cohr, Gracie Donaldson, Caitlin Elliott, Kayarna Jones-Dennes, Emma McLeod, Monique Rees, Jessica Roseingrave,
Olivia Roseingrave, Gemma Sims, Ella Southey, Anlo van Deventer, Hattie Vincent, Sian Wheeler.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
overcast clouds
10.1 ° C
11.6 °
10.1 °
91 %
100 %
10 °
11 °
11 °
12 °
9 °