Friday, July 19, 2024
8.4 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Hosts take kudos for age group nationals

Amy Wollaston sprinting hard to win the under-19 girls road race. PHOTO/DAVE LINTOTT.


The 2018 Vantage national age group cycling champions were a feather in the cap for Athletics and Cycling Masterton which hosted them on behalf of Cycling New Zealand in Carterton
last week.

They were an outstanding success on all fronts, attracting some 670 riders from 44 clubs all around the country and producing some excellent performances over three days of racing, the first of which took in time trials over 15km and 25km and the next two road races over distances ranging from 66km to 102km.

Ironically, it was a track cyclist and a mountain biker who took the limelight in the time trials on a windy Friday.

Mountain biker Phoebe Young from the Central Otago Wakitipu club successfully defended her title in the under-19 women’s section. The under-19 men’s event was won by Finn Fisher-Black of the Tasman Wheelers who was named earlier this month in the New Zealand track squad for the world junior championships in August.

Two other time trial winners, Amy Hollamby and Chris Karton, both from the Timaru club, also repeated their successes on the first day of road racing in their Masters events, Hollamby in the 35-49 year grade and Karton in the 35-59 year grade, while on the second day it was again a couple of under-19 riders from the same club, Te Awamutu, who provided the highlight.

National junior track rep Amy Wollaston outsprinted her rivals in the women’s event while Burnie McGrath made the most of his strength on the hills to win the men’s race.

Several riders from the ACM club contested the championships with several top 10 placings being achieved.

ROAD RACE: Masters men 65-69 years: Paul Wallace 1hr 58:19 11, Peter Lee 2hr 10:24 21, Alan Koziarski 2hr 10:28 22. 55-59 years: Andrew Curtis-Cody 2hr 29:35 42, Duncan Ellis 2hr 38:22 44. 50-54 years: Erik D’Arbois 2hr 48:47 6. 45-49 years: Richard Day 2hr 42:29 18, Darren Sullivan 2hr 44:14 22, Derek Roberts 2hr 46:18 25, Darren Southon 3hr 04:54 32. 40-44 years: Lyle Cuming 2hr 43:12 9.
Masters women 45-49 years: Belinda Fuller 45:49 6. 60-64 years: Lesley Mouat 2hr 04:37 2.
Under-17 boys: Finn Roberts 2hr 52:37 44.
Under-23 women: Emily Luytens 1hr 58:24 7.
Senior men: Matthew Webb-Smith 2hr 21:39 10.
TIME TRIAL: 15km 70-74 years men: Rex Dowding 26:53 14:04 6. 65-69 years: Brian Sanders 28:35 10. 60-64 years women: Diane Chesmar 28:58 4, Under-19 women: Bianca Green 33:15 10.
25km 45-49 years men: Derek Roberts 40:12 15. 40-44 years women: Kirsten Goodin 44:21. 5. Under-19 men: Thomas McCallum 41:42 18.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
few clouds
8.4 ° C
8.4 °
8.4 °
98 %
15 %
9 °
15 °
11 °
14 °
10 °