Monday, April 22, 2024
16.2 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Hook and Sims win top awards

Gemma Sims was named Wairarapa Korus’ player of the year. PHOTOS/FILE

Awards for the cream of the crop


[email protected]

Stefan Hook and Gemma Sims took out the major honours at the Wairarapa Cricket awards ceremonies last week.

Stefan Hook is men’s representative player of the year.

Hook won the Dermott Payton Trophy for men’s representative cricketer of the season and the Rance Bowling Cup for his outstanding return in the Furlong Cup-Hawke Cup elimination series.

The medium-fast bowler captured a remarkable 25 wickets in the five-match series, at an average of 13.48. His best match figures were 10-92 against Whanganui, with a best innings return of 6-35 in that match.

Southey Sayer Wairarapa Korus opening batter-wicketkeeper Sims won the Outstanding Women’s Player Trophy and the batting trophy for her breakout season for the side.

In the Shrimpton Trophy, Sims averaged over 44 with the bat, scoring 221 runs with a top score of 73 not out. Her efforts earned a call-up to the Central Hinds for the Super Smash T20 match with the Canterbury Magicians in February.

Other representative honours went to Jared van Deventer, who won the Curtis Cup for batting, having scored 269 runs over the season, with an average of 24.45, and a top score of 90 against Horowhenua-Kapiti.

Elizabeth Cohr won the Korus’ bowling trophy, taking eight wickets with her offspinners, at an impressive average of 16.25, and a best of 4-32 against Taranaki.

Emma McLeod was honoured with the Korus’ Emerging Player Trophy for her brilliant season with bat and ball.

The promising allrounder scored 148 runs in the Shrimpton Trophy, at an average of 29.6, and a high score of 56 not out in a nine-wicket win over Taranaki in which she took five wickets at 24.4 with her off-spin bowling.

In a break from tradition, the awards ceremonies were split over three nights, starting with junior cricket, followed by women’s cricket, and the men’s senior cricket.

The junior cricket awards also moved away from statistics-based awards. The awards are now based on leadership and development under NZ Cricket policies.

The ‘Strength and Character’ awards are presented for those who show leadership, self-development, courage to give something a try without fear of failure, are hardworking, and challenge to extend themselves.

The ‘Pathway and Development’ awards are presented to the players who have improved and developed over the season, consistently contributed on and off the field, and shown a willingness to learn and grow their skills and knowledge of cricket.

Wairarapa Cricket award winners

Age-Group Pathway

Year 7 Boys: Pathway and Development – Sam Goodman. Strength and Character – Wills Madden.

Year 8 Boys: Pathway and Development – Oliver Oakley. Strength and Character – Shaun Dudson.

Year 8 Girls Green: Pathway and Development – Jenna Thomson. Strength and Character – Sally Booth.

Year 8 Girls Blue: Pathway and Development – Sophie Sweeney, Strength and Character – India Bartlett.

Holmes Construction Girls: Pathway and Development – Rose Larkin, Strength and Character – Lucy Jurlina.

Plumbing World Girls: Pathway and Development: Tessa Champion, Strength and Character – Vanessa Taylor.

Under 15 Boys: Batting – Samuel Payne, Bowling – Alex Mason.

Under 17 Boys: Batting – Mark Steventon, Bowling – Will Summerfield.

Olivia Clark [left] and Ocean Bartlett [right] were joint winners of the Trust House Trophy for Outstanding Age Group Cricketer, after playing for NZ Maori Secondary Schoolgirls team.
Senior Women


Batting – Gemma Sims. Bowling – Elizabeth Cohr. Emerging Player – Emma McLeod. Outstanding Player – Gemma Sims.

Female Franchise:

Ivor Perrin Trophy – Plumbing World Sapphires, franchise batter – Melissa Hansen. Franchise Bowler: -Courtney Olson.

Senior Men:


Curtis Cup [batting] – Jared Van Deventer

Rance Cup [bowling] – Stefan Hook. Dermott Payton Trophy – Stefan Hook.


Bidwill Cup – Burger King Red Star. Bidwill Challenge Cup – Red Star. Umpires Cup – Wairarapa Mitsubishi Greytown. Chairman’s Trophy – Rathkeale. Community Shield T20 – Greytown Coasties.


T20 Batsman – Stefan Hook. T20 Bowler – Jason Dondertman. Dermot Payton Batting – Jaco Vorster. DK Logan Bowling – Peter Sigvertsen. John Gray Trophy [open grade batting] – Troy Burling. Peter Walker Trophy [open grade bowling] – Patrick Wootton. Spirit of Cricket Award – Roshan Sugathan.

Other Awards:

Trust House Trophy for Outstanding Age Group Cricketer – Ocean Bartlett and Olivia Clark. Secondary School Services to Cricket – Alex Mason. Volunteer of the Year – Kris Towgood.

Outstanding Services to Cricket – Tony Lyford. Graeme Elliott Trophy Umpires Award – Chris Cogdale. Life Membership – Johann Fourie.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
scattered clouds
16.2 ° C
17.2 °
16.2 °
55 %
39 %
16 °
17 °
19 °
16 °
16 °