Saturday, April 20, 2024
8.4 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Hansen’s sterling knock

Melissa Hansen was 65no in the Korus’ win over Wanganui. PHOTO/SUPPLIED


[email protected]

Skipper Melissa Hansen scored an unbeaten 65 to guide the Southey Sayer Wairarapa Korus to an easy win over Wanganui and second place in the Mike Shrimpton Trophy on Sunday.

Hansen carried her bat as the Korus passed the Wanganui total of 134 in just the 20th over of the 40-over match at Queen Elizabeth Park Oval. She faced only 56 balls and hit 10 fours.

Monique Rees provided good support and finished on 32 not out.

Earlier, Hansen knocked the top off the Wanganui batting order when she captured the wicket of former White Fern Jess Watkin.

The hard-hitting opener had looked threatening having scored 15, including two fours and one six, before she misjudged the pace of the pitch and had her stumps skittled.

Former Wairarapa representative and Central Hind Esther Lanser showed plenty of fight with a patient 55, but she lacked support with regular wickets falling at the other end.

When Lanser was caught by Macy Lyford off Hansen’s bowling with the score at 125-8 there was little other resistance and the innings was quickly wrapped up.

The Korus suffered an early hiccup with the in-form Kate Sims bowled by Gemma Lovewall for a second ball duck.

Hansen and Kayarna Jones-Dennes added 43 runs for the second wicket. Watkin claimed the wicket of Jones-Dennes and Georgia Atkinson to have the Korus 77-3.

There were to be no further slip-ups though with Hansen and Rees showing aggression to score 59 runs in six overs to wrap up a convincing victory.

Korus’ coach Simon Roseingrave was naturally happy with the outcome.

“We bowled very well and to get Jess [Watkin] early was a bonus. Esther [Lanser] also batted well but we managed to restrict their scoring” he said.

“Then Mel [Hansen] and Monique [Rees] were nice and aggressive and put away the bad ball, and in the end, it was pretty easy.”

The result gave the Korus the runners-up spot in the Mike Shrimpton Trophy, the premier women’s cricket competition in Central Districts, with two wins against Taranaki and Wanganui, an abandoned game with Manawatu, and a loss to champions Hawke’s Bay.

Hawke’s Bay retained the trophy in style, beating Manawatu by four runs in Napier on Sunday to go unbeaten in the competition. They also beat Taranaki by 207 runs, Whanganui by 10 wickets and Wairarapa by 113 runs.

Roseingrave said second place was about right.

“We easily beat Wanganui and Taranaki and only lost to Hawke’s Bay when we didn’t have our Hinds players, so we’re happy with that.”

The Korus will next play Manawatu on Sunday in the first round of the Lower North Island Quad Series which also features Wellington A and Taranaki.


Wanganui 134 [Esther Lanser 55; Hattie Vincent 3-14, Melissa Hansen 2-22] lost to Southey Sayer Wairarapa Korus 136-3 [Melissa Hansen 65no, Monique Rees 32no; Jess Watkin 2-30] by seven wickets


Hawke’s Bay 19 points, Wairarapa Korus 12, Manawatu 11, Taranaki 2, Wanganui 2.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
light rain
8.4 ° C
10.5 °
8.4 °
90 %
100 %
12 °
16 °
16 °
18 °
18 °