Wednesday, June 26, 2024
9.5 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Net gains and fourball qualifying


Our 9-holers played a par round on Saturday. Maureen Coulson and Megan Gibson both played better than their handicap and came in with plus 2. Next were David Tunnicliiffe and Powell Lewis, with plus 1.

Longest putt on hole 4 went to Bill Armstrong, and Maureen also won NTP on hole 9. The Ladies and Men both played the first round of The Broadbent Cup. Julie Murray won the day for the Ladies with 36 stableford points, followed by Sharrie Gibbons and Val Edwards, both with 32.

The Men’s competition was a net medal round. Tipi Rimene played better than his handicap and came in with a net 69. John Drury came in next with a net 70. Net 71 was the flavour of the day according to Brian Mangin, Lance Sayer, Mike Newport and Jim Harris. The Keenan Forestry Best Gross went to Ross Collings with a score of 72. Twos were won by Ross Collings, Val Edwards, Julie Murray, Bill McLinden and Lynn Evans.

Thank you to the players from far and wide who played in our Wairarapa 36-hole Open Men’s Foursomes on Sunday. Team handicaps ranged from plus 2 down to 22.

The gross winners of the day were Matthew Pegg and Ryan Fahey from Shandon with a gross score of 140. Second in the gross competition were Sam Marsters and Hugo Sidford, with a score of 146. Ivan and Byron Karaitiana from our local Mahunga Club were third with a gross score of 153

The net winners of the day were Ryan and Dean Corke, with the best net score of 137. Second place went to David Fahey and Harry Allardyce with net 144 on a countback from our club boys Nic Craig and Craig Wilson.


On a fine but chilly afternoon, 9 women and 14 men played a nett competition. The winner with a nett of 55 was Matthew Meates, 2nd was Daryl Moss 57 on countback. Third was Carolyn Springer, 57, 4th Sarah Broughton, 58, 5th Stu Ingham, 59. The birdie pot was not struck, but with a large jackpot, it will be worth winning. The nearest the pins winners were Penny Stonyer and Steve Clareburt.


Last weekend was qualifying for the Walker Fourball on Saturday and Sunday, with medal rounds being played. On Saturday, first was Anita Karaitiana with net 70, followed by Michelle Coley also on net 70. Wayne Williams was third with net 71 and that was on countback from Malcolm Benseman, also with net 71.

On Sunday in group 1, Jason Walker was first with a nett 68, and that was on countback from Ray Cocks, also with a net 68. Stu Northe was third with net 71, with Karl Burling fourth with net 73, and that was on countback from Graeme Dick. In group 2 Malcolm Benseman was first with net 74, with Rodney Flood second with net 75. Steve Blunsden was third with net 76, with Peter Hawkins fourth with net 77, and that was on countback from James Jackson. Holes in two were scored by Wayne Evans, Kevin Jury, Jason Walker and Rodney Flood.

On Tuesday, the veterans played a stableford round, and for the ladies, Michelle Coley was first with 37 points, and Nan McNae was second with 29 points. For the men Chick Reiri was first with 36 points, with Ross Ireland second with 35 points and Darryl Coley third, also with 35 points.

This weekend the Club competition is stableford on Saturday, Sunday and Monday [Kings Birthday].



Tuesday 28 May: ‘Forsyth Barr’ Tuesday Competition – Net. 1st Lusiana Williams net 72, 2nd Sereana Phillipps net 73, 3rd Janice Hayes 74. Putting Shirely Saunders 25 putts. Forsyth Barr closest to the pin [Silver] Jo Alabaster, All Teed Up closest to the pin Lola Ogg. Aotearoa Cup Sereana Phillpps, Coronation Medal Luciana Williams and Veterans Cup Janice Hayes

Monday 27 May: Vets Competition – Ambrose. 1st John Carroll, Bob MacFarlane, Ash Peterson and Dale McLeod 28.25, 2nd Hugh Blundell, Benny Marriott, Michael Arcus, Rachel Monk 30.75.

Saturday 25 May: ‘BW O’Brien Ltd’ Saturday Club Day – Net. Blue Tees – 1st Alan Kempsell 67, 2nd Ray Verhaart 69, 3rd Ian Buchanan 69, 4th Andy Pottinger 71; White Tees – 1st Benny Marriott 71, 2nd John Ryan 72, 3rd Ewen MacDonald 72, 4th Cliff Cleary 72.

Thursday 23 May: ‘Brad Chittick Ray White Leaders’ Thursday Competition – Stableford. 1st Brian Leighton 40, 2nd Reece Hannam 39, 3rd Sereana Phillipps 37, 4th Harry Quinn 36, 5th Geoff Smart 36, 6th Benny Marriott 36, 7th Mike Falloon 36.


Friday 24 May: Riverside Cup. 4.5–1.5 WIN vs Martinborough at Riversdale GC – singles wins Carol Tudhope 4/3, Jo Philps 4/2, Janice Hayes 3/1, Jan Williams 2 up, Marilyn Strang square. Jeanette McNae won the overall prize of most matches won – 4 from 5 games. This was the final round of the Riverside Cup for 2024 with Masterton coming second and Eketāhuna first overall.

Roger Parker
Roger Parker
Roger Parker is the Times-Age news director. In the Venn-diagram of his two great loves, news and sport, sports news is the sweet spot.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
light rain
9.5 ° C
9.5 °
9.4 °
95 %
100 %
10 °
11 °
11 °
13 °
12 °