Saturday, April 13, 2024
11.7 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Members make most of long weekend


The course was closed on Monday and Tuesday, so there was no club day on Tuesday. Quite a few of our players went over the hill and played at Te Mārua.

A good number of 9-holers played a Net Medal round on Saturday. Brooke Gibson won on the day with a net 29, followed by David Ross and David Tunnicliffe with net 34. The Longest Putt was on hole 14 and won by David Ross.

With no interclub being played over Easter, there was a very good field playing on club day on Saturday afternoon. David Wills won the Mens Par competition with plus 6, which was well clear of Nigel Bain and Greg Hilston with plus 2. Gillies Baker and Matthew Williams followed with plus 1. Bill McLinden won Ev’s bar NTP on Hole 6. All Teed Up for handicaps 0-18 on hole 16 was won by David Wills. The Benmar Challenge on hole 10 was not struck.

Our Club Captain, Donna Burns came in first in the 2nd round of the Stubbs Cup with 40 stableford points. Lorraine Stewart was close behind with 39. Dale Fayen beat Jenny Harris on a countback both scoring 37 stableford points. Donna also won Ladies All Teed Up NTP on Hole #16. Vicki Bain won The Clareville Nursery NTP on hole 9. The Keenan Forestry Best Gross Pro V Ball was won by Ross Collings. Jim Harris and Nigel Bain both got twos and Bill McLinden scored a magnificent Eagle on hole 5.

Saturday sees our 9-holers playing a Stableford round off the front 9 and our 18-holers playing for the Bertha Elbe Memorial Trophy. Remember 18-hole players, this is the last day playing a 12:30 tee-off time. The following week we are back to 12 noon for Saturday play. The 9-holers will continue to tee off at 10am on Saturdays.


A fantastic club day competition today at Riversdale Beach Golf Club, with a field of 36 playing for the Basil Bodle Cup. This cup commemorates the founder of the fantastic seaside community and golf club at Riversdale Beach. We are indebted to Basil Bodle’s hard work and foresight to create our slice of paradise. A huge thank you to Paul and Stephanie Bodle for coming out and being part of our prizegiving ceremony.

The results of the day with a Stableford points competition were: 1st – Joe Loe: 43; 2nd – Amy Salmon: 39; 3rd – Nick Astwick – 36; 4th – Matt Comery – 35. Birdie Pot – Logan O’Neale, Nearest the Pin – Nick Astwick.



Tuesday, April 2: ‘Forsyth Barr’ Tuesday Competition – LGU and putting. 1st First Shirley Saunders Nett 70, 2nd= Anne Smith and June Roseingrave Nett 71. The winner of the putting was Jan Williams with 28 putts. All Teed Up nearest the pin on no. 8 was Jeanette McNae, and the Forsyth Barr nearest the pin on no.18 was Jo Philps.

Monday, April 1: The JNL Easter Tournament held on Monday was attended by over 50 players. Five visitors from Manawatu found our course to be marvellous, after fairway watering at their own club. The overall top prize was won by Shengyi Ye, one of our visitors, with 44 stableford points, and Yu Zhu Chen, another visitor, won the top women’s prize with 43 points. Men’s first division was won by James Crawley with 39 points while the second division winner was Peter Zhang, another visitor. The top 9-hole player was Di Herbert. Many thanks to JNL for their generous sponsorship of this tournament.

Saturday, March 30: ‘BW O’Brien Ltd’ Saturday Club Day – Stableford. 1st Andy Pottinger 38, 2nd Benny Marriott 36, 3rd Reece Hannam 35, 4th Pete Jackson 35.

Thursday, March 28: ‘Brad Chittick Ray White Leaders’ Thursday Competition – Stableford. 1st Jason Lange 41, 2nd Hugh Blundell 39, 3rd Alan Kirkham 38, 4th Nuki Gordon 37, 5th Mark Childs 36, 6th John Francis 36.


It was a big weekend at Mahunga with the Black Hawk Build Group Easter Tournament.

A good field was assembled and a great weekend was enjoyed by all participants. Friday was the practice round, and in group 1 Stu Northe was first with nett 65, with Caleb Kahui second with nett 68 and that was on countback from Dean Wilson, also on nett 68. In group 2 Richard Gaskin was first with nett 67, with Laurence Butler second on nett 68 and Mike Towgood third with nett 69. In group 3 Maurice O’Reilly was first with nett 67 and that was on countback from James Jackson, with Ian Grant third on countback with nett 68. Holes in two were scored by Maurice O’Reilly, Steve Blundsen, Wayne Evans, Damion Apiata, Meki Lauvi, Reshard Lambert, Frankie Martin, Stu Northe, Pano Teofilo and Caleb Kahui.

The main tournament was held over Saturday and Sunday with a prize table of over $12,000 of prizes so a huge thanks to all our sponsors. In the Ladies Gross Group, Cheycoda Cocks was first with 151, and her mother Anita Karaitiana was second on 160, with Aimee Jones third with 165. In the Ladies Nett Group Tania Andersen was first with 143 nett, with Lesley Amos second with 144 nett and Tracy Coutts third with 147 nett.

In the Men’s group 1 first in the gross was Caleb Kahui with 137, with Ivan Karaitiana second with 143, and Shane Mellow third with 146 gross. In the nett Bryan Dick was first with 141nett, with Stu Northe second on 142 and Kauka Waihi third with 146. In Men’s Group 2 Wayne Evans was first in the gross with 157, Graeme Dick was second with 158 and Paul Haxton third with 160. Lance Duckett was the winner of the nett group with 140 nett , with Richard Gaskin second with 142 and Karl Burling third with 143 nett. In group 3 Shawn Jackson was the winner of the gross with 165, with James Niania second with 168 and Layton Kawana third with 171. In group 3 nett, James Jackson was the winner with 131 nett, with Michael Lambert second with 137 and Juan Bailey third with 138 nett.

Holes in two were scored by Dean Wilson who got 3 of them over the 2 days, Darcy Kahui got 2 holes in two, and Byron Karaitiana, Bryan Pengelly, Caleb Kahui, Troy Shaw, Ken Warren, Brian McHattie, Haira Paku, Danniel Kahui, Graeme Dick, Mike Towgood, Kevin Dick, Shawn Jackson, Kieran McGruddy, Jarn Bertie, Hanham Lambert and Chic Reiri all got one. Well done to all the prize winners. Planning is already underway for next year.

This weekend the club competition is an irons-only day on Saturday and on Sunday it is stableford.

Roger Parker
Roger Parker
Roger Parker is the Times-Age news director. In the Venn-diagram of his two great loves, news and sport, sports news is the sweet spot.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
clear sky
11.7 ° C
13.3 °
11.7 °
94 %
5 %
14 °
16 °
17 °
17 °
19 °