Sunday, May 26, 2024
8.4 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Groups enjoy autumn conditions


Saturday was a stableford round at Mahunga and first was Malcolm Bensemen with 38 points, with Michelle Coley second with 37 points. Brent Woodmass was third with 36 points and Mike Towgood fourth with 34 points. Nearest the pins went to Mike Towgood, John Dodd, Jason Walker, Terry Adamson, Malcolm Bensenmen and Jermy Harp. Malcolm Bensemen scored a hole in two.

Sunday’s competition was a par round. In group 1, Shane Stewart was first with 5 up, and he was well clear of the rest, with Karl Burling second on 1 up, and that was on countback from Richard Gaskin third and Rod Dravitzki fourth, who were also 1 up. In group 2, Russell Kawana was first on 5 up, with Maurice O’Reilly second on 3 up, and that was on countback from Layton Kawana, who was also 3 up, with Peter Hawkins fourth on 2 up. Holes in two were scored by Shane Stewart and Rod Dravitzki.

On Tuesday, the veterans had a Stableford round, and for the ladies, first was Karen Morriss with 45 points, Nan McNae was second with 36 points, and Maria Lauvi was third with 31 points. In the men’s group, Graham Leighton was first with 41 points, with Chic Reiri second on 37 points and Ken Downing third with 35 points.

This weekend, the club competition is a medal round on Saturday, and on Sunday, the course is closed due to Mahunga hosting the Marquis Shield Wairarapa inter-club teams. Don’t forget to get your partners sorted for the Haddon Donald fourball on Anzac Day.


The veterans group played an Autumn Cup Stableford round on Tuesday of last week.

The women led the way, with Glenys Vincent coming in first with 45 stableford points and Wendy Sutherland following with 42. Next was Max Baylis and Brian McKeown both with 40. Murray Burns and Lorraine Stewart rounded out the top 6 with 39 stablefords.

On Saturday, our 9-holers beat the rain to play a nett round. First with nett 34 was Carissa Price, closely followed by Megan Gibson and Brooke Gibson with nett 35. Megan also won the Longest Putt competition on hole 4.

A rarity for sure, but both Megan and Malcolm Steel won the same NTP on the 6th.

Saturday afternoon players were lucky and played most of the afternoon in fine weather. The winner of the mixed Par Haggle was Mark Johnston on a plus 4 on a countback from John Drury. Three players ended up with plus 3 – Bill McLinden, David Wills and Graham Hutchby. Nick MacDonald, the sole player with a plus 2, was next. Donna Burns snuck in ahead of Grant Smith and Allan Fayen with a plus 1.

Well done to our vice-captain Bill McLinden, who had a great round, winning the Keenan Forestry Best Gross with a score of 70. It just goes to show that practice makes perfect.

Ev’s bar NTP was won by Allan Fayen. All Teed Up on hole 16 by Nick MacDonald and NTP Benmar on hole 10 by one of our long-serving members, Trevor Clayton. Nick and Bevan Lambess played the par 3’s well, each getting two twos. Bill McLinden and Graham Hutchby managed to get a two as well.

Don’t forget our ANZAC day Tournament on Thursday,April 25. Entry is $20. Registration from 10:30am. Shotgun start at 12 noon. Lest We Forget.


The Riversdale Beach Golf Club women’s team took out a great win at Castlepoint Golf Club on Friday, April 12, securing the Rew and McCracken Cup. This is a combined nett score competition and the results were: RBGC: 424, Carterton Golf Club: 440, Martinborough Golf Club: 437 & Masterton Golf Club: 460. It’s been 15 years since Riversdale Beach won this cup, so well done.


The National Teams Qualifying round was played today with the best 4 nett scores recorded. Jo Alabaster nett 70, Carol Tudhope nett 75, Marilyn Strang nett 75, Lola Ogg nett 75. A nett was also scored by Liz Brown but she chose not to enter the competition.

All Teed Up nearest the pin on hole 8 was Sereana Phillips Forsyth Barr; nearest the pin for 4 on hole 18 was Brenda Blatchford.


Monday, April 15: Vets – Par. 1st Terry Harrison +2, 2nd Liz Brown +1, 3rd Jan Thompson +1, 4th Bob MacFarlane +1.

Thursday, April 11: ‘Brad Chittick Ray White Leaders’ Thursday Competition – Stableford. 1st Peter Mason 39, 2nd Simon Johnston 38, 3rd Geoff Masters 37, 4th Murray Macklin 37, 5th Alan Kirkham 37, 6th Jock Cameron 36

Wednesday 10 April: 9-Hole Ladies – Stableford. 1st Patricia Dawson 24, 2nd Gill Neal 22, 3rd Karen Aitkenhead 21, 4th Beet Horrocks 21, 5th Venetta Justice 21, 6th Jinny Small 21.


Thursday, April 11: 9-hole ladies 2.5–1.5 WIN vs Shandon at Kapiti GC. Singles wins to – Trish Newcombe 1up, Fran Stewart 1up.

Roger Parker
Roger Parker
Roger Parker is the Times-Age news director. In the Venn-diagram of his two great loves, news and sport, sports news is the sweet spot.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
overcast clouds
8.4 ° C
8.4 °
7.7 °
95 %
100 %
8 °
12 °
13 °
11 °
14 °