Sunday, July 14, 2024
7.8 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Bodybuilders bring home the medals


Bodybuilders from Shape Shop Masterton posed their way to six medals, including one gold, at the ICN [ICompete Natural] National Championships in Hamilton last Saturday.

Vicki Lewis brought home a gold medal in the Novice Swimsuit Model and a bronze medal in Fitness Model 50 Plus, Theresa Bartlett picked up a silver medal in the Wellness 40 Plus, Rachael Lewis won two bronze medals in the Wellness Model, and the Angels categories and Linda Oldfield won a bronze in Figure 50 Plus.

The busy period of competition continues for Oldfield this weekend in Melbourne, where she and Sophia Tunnicliff are competing in the ICN Oceania Championships.


West Coast North Island [WCNI] extended their lead in the top category after the second race of the Trust House Team Series held on a fast, flat course at Te Horo on the Kapiti Coast.

In the category two race, a breakaway of four riders, including leader Jack Pageda [WCNI], formed early in the race and built a substantial lead of nearly three minutes after the first lap. However, in the final 12 km, the pace proved too challenging for Pageda and teammate Chris Hansen seized the opportunity, claiming first place ahead of Wheelworks teammates Jack Polley and Andy Hagan.

Kapiti Cycling Club rider Edward Gilbertson secured his first victory in the series, taking out the category three race after a group of 12 riders successfully broke away from the main pack and built an advantage of nearly two minutes over the chasing riders.

Zachary Hintz from Bike Manawatu was second, and despite finishing fourth, leader and last year’s series winner, Jeremy Salmond retained his overall lead.

Category four featured two Masterton teams, whose riders set a rapid pace from the start; however, attempts by riders to break away from the main group were swiftly foiled.

As the race neared its conclusion, a bunch of 29 riders readied themselves for the final sprint. In the last 900m, Dan MacKay [Manawatu Team Tank Guy] emerged victorious in a closely contested sprint, finishing just four-hundredths of a second ahead of Graham Hall [Bike Manawatu] and Mike Dunne, also from Team Tank Guy, in third. Masterton Tararua Builders rider Chris Sutherland finished fourth, less than a second behind the race winner, maintaining the series lead.


Ben Twyman took line honours in Athletics and Cycling Masterton Back in Action Wairarapa half marathon last Sunday.

Due to safety concerns and the cost of traffic management, a new 7km course was used, taking in the running track at the Colin Pugh Sportsbowl, the Waipoua river stop banks and Henley Lake Park.

Twyman completed the three laps in one hour, 19 minutes, 17 seconds, with Seb On second and Darius Simpson, the first ACM runner, home in third place. Helen Gard’ner was the first woman to finish in 1:40:50, also winning the trophy for the best Wairarapa woman finisher. Vicky Paine was second, and Debbie Sinclair third.

Mark Webber was the best of the 14 km competitors, recording a time of 52:30, with Georgia Whiting second and Euan Grigor third.

Female athletes dominated the 7 km event, which was won by Louise Daly in 29:25, followed by Brooke Miller and Marion Dumetz.

Chris Cogdale
Chris Cogdale
Chris “Coggie” Cogdale has extensive knowledge of sport in Wairarapa having covered it for more than 30 years, including radio for 28 years. He has been the sports guru at the Wairarapa Times-Age since 2019.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
broken clouds
7.8 ° C
7.8 °
7.8 °
97 %
61 %
9 °
10 °
12 °
13 °
14 °