Wednesday, July 17, 2024
8.9 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

And the winner is … Greytown

Greytown players celebrate their premier championship victory with a haka. PHOTOS/FILE

Greytown sweep annual rugby awards


[email protected]

Wairarapa-Bush and Greytown prop Lewis Bush has capped a stellar season by walking away with three trophies from Wednesday night’s Wairarapa-Bush Club and Representative Awards ceremony at Farriers.

Bush was named Representative Player of the Year, Wai-Bush Supporters Club Player of the Year, and also won the prestigious Pat Shannahan Trophy for Premier Player of the Year, heading off strong competition from Greytown teammate and captain Tavita Isaac, and Carterton halfback-captain Daryl Pickering.

Bush, 23, played a pivotal role in Greytown completing an unbeaten season in winning the Chris ‘Moose’ Kapene Memorial Cup premier championship. He carried on that form for Wai-Bush and quickly became a cult hero for his try-scoring feats, finishing the Heartland Championship as the team’s top try scorer with five, two of which were spectacular diving efforts in the corner.

Bush’s awards were just part of the success for his Greytown club, who dominated the awards evening, and topped it off by winning the prestigious Sir Brian Lochore Trophy for Club of the Year.

Mark Childs, centre, who won the Coach of the Year with Paul Pottinger, celebrates winning the Moose Kapene Cup with Nick Olson, number 10.

As well, Mark Childs and Paul Pottinger picked up the Lane Penn Trophy for Premier Coach of the Year, loose forward Rihi Brown won the Kingi Matthews Maori Player of the Year, veteran utility back Nick Olson took out the Manuera [Ben] Riwai-Couch Trophy for top premier try scorer with nine tries, outside back Moomoo Falaniko won the Patrick Rimene Trophy for top premier points scorer with 105 points, Tavita Isaac was presented with the Ron Hughes Trophy for Junior Administrator, and Tim McGilvary was awarded the Eric Kenny Trophy for Personality of the Year.

Masterton Red Star dominated the Senior Reserve awards, with utility back Tarquin Karaitiana named Player of the Year, and Chris Senior awarded Coach of the Year for leading the team to championship victory in their first season back in the grade.

Puketoi loose forward Oliver Wright won the Bob Francis Trophy, adjudged the best and fairest player across the two senior grades, the Baden Whale Trophy for top referee went to Alistair Payne, while East Coast’s Lisa Wyeth won the Farry McLeod Volunteer of the Year, and Richard Carroll was presented the David Galvin Administrator of the Year Trophy for his hard work at the Pioneer club.

The Rutene Family Trophy for College Player of the Year went to Rathkeale’s Leon Tuiloma, and the Mrs A McPhee Trophy for Secondary Schoolgirl Player was presented to Nevengka Valakvi from Chanel College.

On the representative scene, veteran lock Andrew McLean was named best forward, halfback Isaac Bracewell best back, and prop Tupou Lea’aemanu most promising player in the Heartland team.

Blue Hansen.

The Wai-Bush Women’s awards went to Paige Walker for best player, and Xanthe Somerville for most promising player.

Age group awards were presented to Logan Wakefield [best player] and Louie Manesa-Anae [most promising] in the Under 20s, Tuiloma [best player] and Hayden Cooper [most promising] in the Under 18s, and Paselio Manesa [best player] and Will Cole [most promising] in the Under 16s.

The evening was capped off with Blue Hansen, who last month won the Volunteer and People’s Choice trophies at the Wairarapa Times-Age Sports Awards, being presented with the Mediaworks Achievement Award, for hours of dedication to the Pioneer club and the Wai-Bush Heartland team.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
clear sky
8.9 ° C
9.4 °
8.9 °
97 %
7 %
9 °
13 °
12 °
15 °
11 °