Wednesday, May 29, 2024
4.5 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

The call up for ‘coolest people’ begins

Nominations are now open for the awards ceremony celebrating “Carterton’s coolest people”: Community leaders, business people, young achievers, and more.

The triennial Charles Rooking Carter Awards, organised by Carterton District Council [CDC] will be held at the end of June. It celebrates those who have contributed to the Carterton community through innovation, entrepreneurship, volunteer work, and championing sustainability and the environment.

Since the ceremony’s inception in 1994 [then called the Charles Rooking Carter Community Awards], close to 150 awards have been presented to “people who generously provide time, passion, and commitment to making Carterton a caring and thriving place to live”, a CDC spokesperson said.

The awards were last held in 2021, with 55 nominations from the Carterton community.

This year, people can nominate deserving recipients across five categories. These are:

  • Volunteer Service Award – recognising the important role of volunteers – individuals or groups – whose service positively impacts the Carterton district;
  • Entrepreneurship Award – for an individual, organisation or project trying something new and innovative to solve problems;
  • Business Award – rewarding a business which has demonstrated commitment, excellence, and creativity in creating a positive and supportive work environment;
  • Environmental and Sustainability Award – going to those making outstanding contributions to improving te taio [the environment] in Carterton; and
  • Youth Award celebrating the passion, success and commitment of rangatahi [aged 12 to 24 years], who are leading change in their community.

There will also be an overall supreme award, with the recipient chosen by CDC.

The awards are named for Carterton’s “founding father” Charles Rooking Carter – who was a strong advocate for Wairarapa settlers and instrumental in developing many public services in Carterton, including the library, an observatory, the cemetery, post office, courthouse, and police station.

His most notable gifts to the town were the Carter Home for aged men, now known as Carter Court, and the Carter Reserve.

Noteworthy past Charles Rooking Carter awardees include the Grace Yeats Trust and Eion Clarke – who has maintained the town clock for close to 50 years.

The awards ceremony will be held at Carterton Events Centre on Saturday, June 22.

For information about how and when to nominate, visit www.cdc.govt.nz/your-district/awards

Erin Kavanagh-Hall
Erin Kavanagh-Hall
Erin Kavanagh-Hall is the editor of the Wairarapa Midweek. She has been a journalist for the past 10 years, and has a keen interest in arts, culture, social issues, and community justice.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
overcast clouds
4.5 ° C
4.5 °
4.5 °
97 %
100 %
7 °
10 °
13 °
16 °
18 °