Sunday, May 26, 2024
12.7 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Strong demand for sports awards tickets

Winner of the Wairarapa Times-Age Supreme Award for 2016, Jorge Sandoval (right), pictured with Times-Age general manager Andrew Denholm. PHOTO/FILE

By Gary Caffell

Anybody who wants to attend the 2017 Wairarapa Times Age sports awards presentation function at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Solway Park on Wednesday, June 7 and hasn’t yet purchased a ticket should do so post haste.

This is because they are being snapped up in a manner which suggests the full house sign could be hung up any day soon.

The strong demand for tickets is no surprise considering the record number of public votes received over the 15 categories and the fact that former All Black Andrew Hore has been engaged as guest

Hore made his debut in his specialist role of hooker for the AB’s in 2002 and went on to make 83 appearances for his country during an 11-year international career which included being part of the 2011 Rugby World Cup-winning side.

Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Senior Sports Personality of the Year: Alison Andrews-Paul, Melissa Hansen, Seth Rance, Spike Taylor.

Youth Sports Personality of the Year: Gerard Hickey, Kate Sims, Max Spencer, Mikael Starzynski.

Junior Sports Personality of the Year: Sheldon Brown, James Church, Jack Hunter, Louis Oliver.

Disabled Athlete of the Year: Josh Taylor, Keelan Ward.

Coach of the Year: Mark Harris, Anna Kitching, David Knox, Willie Schaefer.

Administrator of the Year: Ross Linton, Gail Miller, Seth Rossiter-Stead, Susan Whiteman.

Senior Official of the Year: Johann Fourie, Rebecca Mahoney, Alistair Payne.

Junior Official of the Year: Cassandra Dawson, Caitlin Elliott, Georgia Wilson.

Volunteer of the Year: Janice Leighton, David Parke, Mike Van Woerkom.

Senior Sports Team of the Year: Dalefield men’s hockey team, Dalefield women’s hockey team, Wairarapa-Bush Heartland rugby side, Wairarapa Korus senior women’s cricket team.

Youth Sports Team of the Year: Rathkeale College first XI football side, Wairarapa College first XV rugby team, Wairarapa under-18 girls cricket team.

Junior Sports Team of the Year: Masterton Swimming Club Junior Festival team, St Marys School first XI girls cricket team, Wairarapa year 7 netball team.

Sports Club of the Year: Dalefield Hockey Club, Red Star Cricket Club, Wairarapa Paddlers.

Primary School of the Year: Douglas Park, Hadlow, St Mary’s.

Secondary School of the Year: Rathkeale College, Solway College, Wairarapa College.

Winners of each of these categories will automatically become finalists for the supreme champion award and there will be a People’s Choice award which will go to the finalist receiving the most votes outside the category winners.

A Lifetime Achievement award will also be made with the recipient there having given long years of valuable service to their particular sporting organisation.

Tickets for the sports awards function can be purchased through the main office at the Wairarapa Times-Age.


Comments are closed.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
scattered clouds
12.7 ° C
12.7 °
12.7 °
86 %
32 %
13 °
10 °
12 °
13 °
9 °