Wednesday, July 24, 2024
7.8 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Samuel set to leave DHB after four terms


[email protected]

Wairarapa District Health Board will include many fresh faces when the board starts a new three-year term in December.

Deputy chairwoman Leanne Southey is the only board member standing again. Ten candidates are bidding for seven roles. The Health Minister can appoint up to four people on the board.

Chairman Sir Paul Collins, and 2016 ministry appointments Adrienne Staples, Ronald Karaitiana and Jane Hopkirk will not be seeking positions through election. Karaitiana is standing in the Masterton District Council elections.

Long-time board member Fiona Samuel is stepping aside after four terms.

She said she had given the decision a lot of thought but will “give health governance a break so I can focus on my developing career and allow some new faces to take the helm”.

“I am grateful to our community for their support and for allowing me to represent them over the past 12 years.”

Samuel said her suggestions for incoming board members would involve “a long discussion”.

“But in short, my advice would be, do the reading, prepare well, don’t ever be afraid to ask the hard questions and when making decisions always ensure the well-being of the community is at the forefront of thinking.

“The health landscape is ever-changing. Moving forward I believe it is crucial that we protect and develop local services, particularly obstetrics and services for those in their first 1000 days of life, children, youth and our most vulnerable populations.”

The Health Ministry places no limit on the number of terms for elected members.

The DHB’s health target results, as rated by the health ministry, were above the national averages with four of five targets met. Wairarapa only fell short in the ‘Shorter stays in emergency departments’ measure, with a 92.7 per cent score against a target of 95 per cent.

An interim report into New Zealand’s health services is due by the end of this month. The final report should be published in March next year.

Existing Wairarapa DHB board: Sir Paul Collins [chairman], Leanne Southey [deputy chairwoman], Liz Falkner, Derek Milne, Nick Crozier, Rick Long, Alan Shirley, Fiona Samuel, Jane Hopkirk [appointed], Adrienne Staples [appointed], Ronald Karaitiana [appointed].

Nominations for 2019-2022 term: Don Baskerville, Tony Becker, Stephen Butcher, Joy Cooper, Norman Gray, Peter McCardle, Helen Pocknall, Ryan Soriano, Leanne Southey [current], Jill Stringer.


  1. Southey should not be in governance. Get new blood on the Board, some younger (in attitude), smarter people who care about their community.

Comments are closed.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
clear sky
7.8 ° C
9.9 °
7.8 °
77 %
1 %
8 °
14 °
15 °
14 °
14 °