Thursday, July 18, 2024
10.1 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Challenge to name our best

Former All Black captain Richie McCaw was crowned New Zealander of the Year for 2016. PHOTO/NZME

The three Wairarapa Mayors are challenging Wairarapa people to nominate a local to be the 2017 New Zealander of the Year.
The annual New Zealander of the Year Awards are now in their eighth year.
They recognise a diverse range of Kiwis from all fields of endeavour including science, business, the arts, cultural or community involvement, sport, education and health.
They are open to New Zealanders of all ages whose impact has inspired the communities they serve and the country as a whole.
Masterton Mayor Lyn Patterson said in her day-to-day work she came across many Wairarapa people who deserved recognition.
“One of the best things about my job is meeting the many people doing wonderful things in our community.
“These are real people whose selflessness and everyday acts of kindness make Wairarapa the great place it is to live and work”.
Apart from New Zealander of the Year, awards will also be presented to New Zealanders who have performed with distinction in five other award categories:
Young New Zealander of the Year
Senior New Zealander of the Year
New Zealand Community of the Year
New Zealand Innovator of the Year
New Zealand Local Hero of the Year
South Wairarapa Mayor Adrienne Staple said Wairarapa was full of “kind and inspirational people”.
“You can’t escape the overwhelming sense of gratitude our community has for them.
“While they’d be the first to say they’re not special, we know otherwise.
“So these awards are a great chance to acknowledge them”.
Mayor of Carterton John Booth said it was time “we showed New Zealand just how proud of these people we are”.
“The New Zealander of the Year Awards are the best possible way of saying thanks.
“I can think of no better way to honour the best of Wairarapa than by nominating someone for New Zealander of the Year.”
Nominations for the New Zealander of the Year awards opened last month and close on September 30.
Anyone can nominate an individual or community organisation for the awards.
Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Richie McCaw (2016), Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
moderate rain
10.1 ° C
10.1 °
8.3 °
98 %
100 %
10 °
13 °
15 °
13 °
14 °