Monday, July 22, 2024
8.9 C


My Account

- Advertisement -

Booth joins council’s rural advisory group



Former Carterton Mayor John Booth will again be representing the community in an official way after being appointed to the district’s new Rural Advisory Group.
Booth, who served as Carterton mayor from 2014 to 2019 would now serve as the advisory group’s deputy chair, alongside councillor Brian Deller, who would be chair, and councillors Steve Gallon, Grace Ayling, and Deputy Mayor Dale Williams, who would be members of the group.
The appointments were announced at Carterton District Council’s inaugural meeting on Wednesday, along with other committee membership decisions.
The council has seven committees: Audit and Risk, Policy and Projects, Investment, Water Race, Hearings, Rural Travel Fund, and Community Grants. It also has five advisory groups: Rural, People and Places, Walking and Cycling, and Wastewater Treatment Plant.
Mayor Ron Mark would be a member of Audit and Risk, Policy and Projects, and Community Grants.
All councillors are members of the Policy and Projects Committee, which oversees the delivery of major projects, strategic development, and the review of policies, strategies, and bylaws.
Councillor Steve Cretney will chair the Policy and Projects Committee, and Gallon will be deputy.
Philip Jones has been appointed the independent chair of Audit and Risk, and Williams will serve as deputy. Joining them on the committee is Ayling, and Cretney.
An independent chair is yet to be confirmed for the Investment Committee.
Williams will be deputy, and will be joined by councillors Lou Newman and Steve Laurence.
Deller would chair the Water Race Committee, and Gallon and Cretney would be members. They will join David Ellison, Jill Eastham, John McFadzean, and Neil Wadham until the Water Race elections are held in 2024.
Councillor Robyn Cherry-Campbell will chair the Hearings Committee. Deller would be deputy, and Laurence a member.
Cretney would chair the Rural Travel Fund Committee.
Cherry-Campbell would chair the Community Grants Committee.–NZLDR
Public Interest Journalism funded through NZ On Air

Related Articles

- Advertisement -
overcast clouds
8.9 ° C
9.4 °
8.9 °
98 %
100 %
9 °
9 °
10 °
12 °
14 °