Wairarapa women, left to right, Ana-May Gudsall, Amanda McLeod and Marnie Taylor at the transtasman Masters hockey competition. PHOTO/SUPPLIED


Wairarapa players are making a mark at this year’s transtasman masters hockey competition being held at the Gold Coast.

The tournament features women and men teams from New Zealand and Australia competing in seven age divisions.

The nation with the most wins across the competition will be declared the transtasman champion.

Wairarapa women Ana-May Gudsall and Marnie Taylor are playing in the women’s 35 team.

After a tough loss 2-0 in their first game they drew their second 0-0.

Amanda McLeod, playing in women’s 50 team, led the team to victory, scoring a dramatic winner in the 49th minute against Australia on Thursday after a first-up 1-2 loss.

Taupo’s Robin Harrison sent a beautiful flat pass into the circle that allowed McLeod to dive in front of the goalkeeper and deflect the ball into the net.

“It was an amazing feeling to score a goal for NZ,” McLeod said.

The winners of the competition were tol be decided after the final round of games on Saturday.