Mark Smith and Dean Corrigan were unbeaten in the Burt Munro Challenge. PHOTOS/GAIL SMITH



Wairarapa riders topped the podium at the iconic Burt Munro Challenge motorcycle racing series held in Invercargill this month.

The annual event, in its 15th year, is held to commemorate the deeds of Burt Munro of ‘The World’s Fastest Indian’ fame.

Racing involved a series of sprint races on the city’s Teretonga racetrack, and street races on a challenging Invercargill inner-city course.

Sidecar racer Mark Smith from Carterton and swingman Dean Corrigan were unbeaten in the two days of racing, winning both races in the Classic sidecar pre-82 class at Teretonga, and backing up with three wins on the tricky street circuit.

‘Rowdy’ Durbridge, left, and Terry Galway with the Pike River Memorial Trophy.

Mauriceville’s Terry Galway walked away with the Pike River Memorial Trophy, presented for points accumulated at the Greymouth street races and the Burt Munro Challenge.

Galway topped the points table in the Teretonga sprint races in the Classic pre-63 501cc plus class and Post Classic pre-82 junior up to 600cc class and three seconds in the street races.

Galway was presented with the prestigious trophy by Rick “Rowdy” Durbridge, whose son was killed in the 2010 mining tragedy.

Steven Gregg, from Carterton, came home with a third placing in the Formula Two class in the street races, and a sixth at Teretonga on a 2005 Honda CBR600RR.

Doug Fairbrother from Greytown was seventh on the streets, and 12th at Teretonga on his 1970 BSA Rocket 3 750.