Five Wairarapa players have been selected in the Central Districts Under-18 girls’ cricket team to play in the National Tournament later this month.

Kate Sims, Gemma Sims, Olivia Roseingrave, Hattie Vincent and Ocean Bartlett will head to Wellington for the tournament starting January 14, while Elizabeth Cohr has been named as a non-travelling reserve.

The selection came after the Central Districts Regional Tournament in Whanganui.

A first-up loss to Hawke’s Bay was the only blot on the campaign which ended with a third placing.

Batting first in the 3rd-4th playoff match against Manawatu, a solid opening stand of 40 between Gemma Sims [27] and Caitlin Elliott [16] paved the way for a score of 143/8 off the allotted 30 overs.

The side then put in their best bowling and fielding display of the tournament to restrict Manawatu to 117/8 with Kate Sims 3 for 22, Olivia Roseingrave 2 for 17 and Ella Southey 2 for 20 excelling with the ball.

It will be a rebuilt team who will feature at next year’s tournament as the Sims sisters, Elliott, Olivia Roseingrave and Tahlia Jones-Dennes have now completed their provincial age-group careers.

Hawke’s Bay went on to win the regional tournament. They convincingly won the final against Nelson by 100 runs.